User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Please choose which area most suits your question...

NAVIGATION

  • Billing Support
  • Technical Support
  • Game / Community Support

Didn't find what you were looking for? Write a comment below and we'll help you at asap!

 

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Bloo

UPDATE: Now complete! Thank you very much for your patience!

Some of you might have noticed recent issues with our databases and maintenance. We use multiple databases to record things and use that data. CSR is one example. Wiretap is another - it allows things like the lovely Lagus OKW Map Viewer to work. When this campaign started, something was wrong with the system that takes the actual game data and copies it to secondary databases where we can do things that are not necessarily critical without slamming the primary databases. Basically, the place Wiretap gets its data from was not in sync with the actual databases.

Tuesday, we took some extra time during our normal weekly maintenance (normally 15 minutes or less) to try to resolve the sync issue and found the problem. But the problem was not a short fix, so we restored the game while Ramp and KFS1 worked on the database syncing issue. Within 30-40 minutes, they found the culprit and figured out a solution. However, this solution will require the campaign server to be down again, for probably 20-30 minutes.

We didn't want to do that again today, so we've decided to do it on Wednesday. And to give our weekday AM CDT players a break, we are going to do this Wednesday at 3 PM US CDT / 8 PM GMT aka 9 PM British Summer Time (some would prefer I write that as: 15:00 CDT / 21:00 GMT). Expected down time: 20-30 minutes.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

User Rating: 4 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Inactive

UPDATE 8-5-11 1:15AM
Campaign server open and spawning unlocked. All web services may not be restored until late Friday. Thank you for your patience and support.
--
The Rats

 

Early this morning, Playnet's ISP company had a power outage. Since the Dallas area is sweltering under a record-breaking heat wave, the power grid is under extreme strain and electricity is being interrupted all over the metroplex. Unfortunately, for some unknown reason, the ISPs back up system did not kick in. The results were that all our servers and routers were shut down improperly.

Staff have been at the location all day bringing the systems back up. The bad news is that all the data tables need to be rebuilt, the firewall process followed very carefully to ensure no security breaches and many other systems must be reconfigured, all of which is a lengthy process. The good news is that there will be no permanent damage.

We will focus on bringing the game server up first, that is our #1 priority. We do not currently have a time estimate for that. Forums and other systems will follow. We will continue to update this page, our Facebook page and our Twitter feed with updates.

We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, this entire situation was completely out of our control, but we are striving to correct it as quickly as possible while still ensuring the security of our entire system.

Thank you for your patience.

Page 1 of 6

© 1999-2017 Playnet, Inc. All Rights Reserved | Developed by Cornered Rat Software, LLC.
Playnet™, World War II Online™, WWII Online™, Cornered Rat Software™, are trademarks or registered trademarks of Playnet Incorporated.
Other marks used herein are those of their respective owners.
  

Site Search